Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head

September 29, 2011

Dear Mother Nature,

This is the third Thursday in a row that it has rained.  Not only has this been inconvenient since I started a new contract on Thursday two weeks ago, but it’s also my busiest day, driving-wise.  You know, traffic is always worse when there’s inclement weather.  Can you please try and provide us with abundant rain, but maybe not on Thursdays for a while?  That would be awesome.  K, thanks.

Love,

Wendy

__________________________________________________________________

I don’t enjoy rainy days.  I know that rain needs to happen in order for many other things (that I enjoy) to happen, but I have a job where I’m constantly driving, constantly dragging instruments all over creation, and constantly having to exude ridiculous amounts of energy in each group in order to keep people engaged and participating.  The rain is not conducive to driving, dragging around carts of drums, or anyone’s energy level.

So, I psych myself up.  I hum songs about rain all morning before work, and in sessions, we talk about the rain in a really active way.  On rainy days, I live the songs “Pennies From Heaven,” “Singin’ in the Rain,” and “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head.”  I try to stay positive, because if I let my low energy get in the way of my work or my clients’ mood, it’s very counterproductive.  Coffee also helps, but I can’t rely on caffeine to fake enthusiasm.

A man in my group two weeks ago told me “If I was God, I’d make it rain, but only at night.” I told him I’d vote for him if the position is ever open.

Anyhoo, rain happens.  I just have to make the most of it, and be glad that I don’t live in Texas, where rain would be welcomed, any day, any time.

Leave a Reply

