Here Comes Santa Claus

December 20, 2011

The past two months have been kind of crazy.  Between family gatherings, friends visiting, the conference, vacations, and now with the almighty winter holiday season in full swing, my wallet has taken a somewhat significant blow.  I have been careful about my restaurant habit, occasional frivolous online shopping and sometimes expensive grocery tastes, but somehow (I know exactly how) there is very little in my bank account.

________________________________________________________________

Four new tires to replace four very bald tires on my car before the first real snow: -$420.00

Dollar amount that I should have in my account, but due to simultaneous accounts payable breakdowns at three of my facilities, do not: -$2720.00

Holiday shopping for my entire family and boyfriend: – $(I’m actually not ready to be aware of this right now, so I haven’t done the calculations, but let’s just say that I may have made some purchases that will set me back a bit).

Quarterly taxes: -$560.00

________________________________________________________________

Ahh the holidays…

Something that relieves the stress of the holidays though (but not when it starts the day after Halloween – gracias, Oldies 103.3 and WROR) is holiday music.  It reminds me that ’tis not the season of grumpiness and seasonal depression, but – ’tis the season to be jolly.  So on that note, here is a list of my top ten-ish favorite recordings of holiday songs, followed by a list of ten-ish recordings that I never really want to hear again:

Nice (In no particular order)

The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) – Nat King Cole

We Three Kings/God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen – Barenaked Ladies & Sarah McLachlan

Feliz Navidad – José Feliciano

Joy to the World – Mariah Carey

Holly Jolly Christmas – Burl Ives

White Christmas – Bing Crosby

Sleigh Ride – Leroy Anderson

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra

Happy X-Mas War is Over – John Lennon/Yoko Ono

Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee

The Chanukah Song – Adam Sandler

 

Naughty (In no particular order)

Winter Wonderland – The Eurythmics

Winter Wonderland – Johnny Mathis

Wonderful Christmastime – Paul McCartney

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year -Johnny Mathis

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year – Amy Grant

Jingle Bells – Barbra Streisand

Mary’s Boy Child – Boney M.

Litte Saint Nick – The Beach Boys

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer – Dean Martin

The Twelve Pains of Christmas – Bob Rivers

Santa Claus is Coming to Town – Bruce Springsteen

 

What are the holiday songs that relieve the stress of the season?  Which ones make you more stressed?  Any on these lists?

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Here Comes Santa Claus”

  1. Nick said

    My mom loves that Boney M. song, I don’t mind it too much. I also have a bit of a soft spot for the Paul McCartney song ha. Got to love the Mariah Carey ones, so good! Bruce Springsteen, ughhhh, must be the worst!

Leave a Reply

