Telephone

January 23, 2012

I would like to use this post as an ode to the only inanimate object in my life that can solve almost any minor problem I have:

My iPhone.

Whenever I look at my phone, the soundtrack that plays is Lionel Richie's "Hello."

I love my phone.  I recently read an article in the New York Times that may or may not be judging me for that love, but I’m unashamed. Before my iPhone, I had a flip Motorola that was small and came free with my AT&T contract.  I liked that phone a lot and at the time, it did everything I needed it to do.  It called people and I could text on it.  The End.

For those of you who are still using your old Nokia from 2001 or your Blackberry from two years ago, I almost envy you.  The reason for this is that I’m pretty sure I could never go back to a regular phone after being so spoiled by the piece of technology that has single-handedly changed my life, especially professionally.  You may think I’m being dramatic, but I assure you, it’s the truth.

Here are the 15 things I use my phone for on a regular basis, in no particular order:

_______________________________________________________________

1. Searching for songs or artists on Youtube or Google when a client suggests a song/singer I don’t know in certain types of music therapy groups.  This function goes hand in hand with a pair of speakers I reviewed here.

2. Searching for songs I don’t know on Youtube and plugging my phone into my auxiliary input port in my car in order to learn new songs while I’m on the road.

3. E-mailing contracts and colleagues from my phone between groups (in my parked car) to avoid spending time “working” when I get home at the end of the day.

4. Calling colleagues between groups and sometimes while driving (I know, I know… just being honest) in order to talk about students’ progress in order (again) to avoid working when I get home.

5. Taking attendance in my “Notes” app.

6. Making lists of songs or artists to learn or learn about, in my “Notes” app.

7. Planning for new groups and changes in schedule with my “Calendar.”

8. Recording ideas for new songs or exercises on my “Voice Memos” app.

9. Finding my way to new facilities when I’m lost with my “Maps.”

10.  Setting reminders about meetings, etc. on my Alarm Clock.

11.  Finding out titles of songs that are playing on the radio (that I think might be appropriate for my psych group) with my “Soundhound” app.

12.  Finding out how to play chords I don’t know with “Chord Finder.”

13. Learning how to say thing in different languages to non-English speakers with iTranslate (only problem here is that I can’t understand what they say in response…darn).

14. Making playlists on the spot for music listening interventions (paired with relaxation, art or movement) on my iPod.

15.  Look up song lyrics on Google if I know the tune of a song but not the words.

________________________________________________________________

I also do fun things on my phone like look up recipes, play games, listen to music, read blogs I like and check in on yelp, but by far, my phone has become the most useful item in my professional life, and for that reason, I am eternally grateful to Steve Jobs, may he rest in peace.

May I just say that I still have the 3Gs and I feel this way!  Imagine the possibilities once Siri makes her way into my life…

 

Leave a Reply

