Try

June 23, 2012

When I was feeling burnt out last year, all I wanted to do was write.  Every group I had gave me an idea for a blog post, and between August of last year and January, I mostly wrote more than once a week.  Alas, things have changed.

My schedule changed at the end of January, which kept me much busier than usual (in a good way) and left less time for blogging and ideas.

I became more motivated in my work after leaving one of my contracts, so I have been spending more time doing work I like, and less time thinking about liking work.

I began religiously listening to NPR in my car between groups instead of thinking about work.

I started a lifestyle change in search of balance in food consumption and exercise which left less time to blog.

I have been making more creative meals for myself and my boyfriend in an attempt to get out of my “chicken meatball and brussels sprouts” rut.  This takes more time.

I began working on three fairly complicated work-related projects/proposals.

Anyway, the list goes on in terms of things that have kept me away from WordPress, but the truth is that I miss blogging and I wish I had more time to write.  However – I haven’t given up!  I have 6 posts that I started months ago and never finished that are waiting for edits and publication, and one that I finished earlier today that I’ll post later. I wonder though, if I will be able to get back into the swing of things in the same way as before…

Two things happened this past week that motivated me to start writing again.  One, a former student of mine asked me for some advice on beginning contract work and I found that I enjoyed answering his questions quite a bit.  Two, I heard a story about a young Pakistani singer, Ghazala Javed, who was shot and killed for no obvious reason. I’ll write more on both of those topics in future posts, hopefully soon, and maybe that will get the blog ball rolling once again.

My goal is to get to 100 posts by Labor Day.  This is 71.  Can I do it?  We’ll see.  In any case, thanks for reading and I’ll try to come by more often.

Leave a Reply

