Movin’ on Up

July 26, 2012

So this past week, Sherman Hemsley of “The Jeffersons” and “All in the Family” fame died.  While I stayed up too late watching “All in the Family” among other 70’s and 80’s sitcoms during my sophomore year of college, I never saw “The Jeffersons.”  I still haven’t, and I probably won’t start now, but I do appreciate the sentiment of its theme song.

For the past couple of years, I have been toying with the idea of going back to school.  I think I was trying to find a way to make my job more challenging, added to the fact that I have a couple other friends who are either just starting grad programs or have just finished (and I was feeling a little internal pressure to go in that direction myself), and colleagues have, point-blank, told me that I need to go back and get a Master’s. And my dad told me (from personal experience) to go back to school before I have babies.

However, something else has just come up which will most likely postpone grad school applications for at least a year (ideally, it would postpone grad school indefinitely, but that may not be realistic).  I am getting two university-affiliated interns this September at the hospital system I contract with, and what’s really cool, is that it looks like it will probably open interesting doors and windows for me and the people I work with in the near future.

This year began with me starting to spend a little more time being healthy, active, and mindful, and I believe the shift in my energy level has made me more motivated in every way, and has really allowed me to take advantage of situations in a way I never felt comfortable doing before.  I called two new places this week and scheduled appointments to do sample sessions at one of the facilities.  I had a meeting with someone regarding copyright issues for a super secret project I’m working on (in all my spare time…), and I made a list of the things I’d like to accomplish in the next week, including filling out some paperwork so that I can open a Roth IRA, so that I can actually retire someday!!.

Things are happening, people, and I can only hope that this fantastically awesome wave I’m riding on continues to bring good things my way.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

